Joan (pronounced Jo Ann) and Walter 50th wedding anniversary dinner.  Photo by Chris.

Years ago, while living in Lake Forest Park, our neighbors, Walter and Joan, invited us to their 50th wedding anniversary dinner.  They were transplants from Texas.  She was a retired school teacher and he had retired from Boeing.  When we heard Walter’s stories about WW II and how his legs were frozen in the Battle of the Bulge we were amazed at his bravery.  But he had a job to do and he did it.

I think about today and how so many people live in fear.  They think about the “what ifs.”  We’ve had brave men and women defending our freedom from the Revolutionary War to WWI, WWII, Korea, Vietnam to Afghanistan and Iraq.  Where did they get their courage?  Well, they had a job to do and they did it.  Maybe they were fearful like I would be but they did what they had to do.  We can learn from these brave ones.  We can look to God and cling to Him and do our jobs.  This hymn came to mind today.

  1. I need Thee every hour, most gracious Lord;
    No tender voice like Thine can peace afford.
    • Refrain:
      I need Thee, oh, I need Thee;
      Every hour I need Thee;
      Oh, bless me now, my Savior,
      I come to Thee.
  2. I need Thee every hour, stay Thou nearby;
    Temptations lose their pow’r when Thou art nigh.
  3. I need Thee every hour, in joy or pain;
    Come quickly and abide, or life is vain.
  4. I need Thee every hour; teach me Thy will;
    And Thy rich promises in me fulfill.
  5. I need Thee every hour, most Holy One;
    Oh, make me Thine indeed, Thou blessed Son.